And The Blogger Recognition Award Goes To…

I have been nominated for the Blogger Recognition Award by Paperback Discovery, a really great blog written by a book-lover for book-lovers! You should go check out their blog and give them a follow 😉

bloggerrecognitionaward

 Rules

  • Pick your 15 favorite blogs to give the award to (not including yourself or the one which nominated you).
  • Write a post to show off your award! A brief story of how your blog got started and some advice for new bloggers. Thank your nominator and link to their blog. List your nominees in the post.
  • Attach the award (right-click, save and upload the above image).
  • Comment on each blog (letting them know they’ve been nominated and linking to the post).
  • Link to the original post on Edge of Night.

Who needs a Useless Book Club?

The main reason why I started this blog was for writing. I’ve written and self-published a novel, but I also wanted somewhere that I could write stories that popped into my head.

It’s all about the readers. The whole point of writing for me is creating stories that people enjoy reading. So I thought a blog would be the best way to connect with as many readers as possible, without asking you for anything in return (unless you really want to buy my book).

Why do I write these short stories and novels? Because (like Paperback Discovery) I love to read. So you’ll find reviews of what I’ve read or am reading here as well.

Advice

I haven’t been around on this blog for very long. But I was here before, on another blog which now sits dusty and unloved in a dark corner of the internet, so I do have some advice to give.

  • Click me, I look nice. Put an image on top of your posts which fits with what you’ve written and will draw readers in. Sometimes the most popular posts aren’t that great, the image is just clickable.
  • Listen to your readers. I’m constantly pouring over the stats and comments to see which posts people enjoyed the most (not just those which got the most views). If they like it, give them more!
  • Know your audience. It took me a while to find a use for the stats map other than “oh cool, someone on Saturn viewed my blog”. I now post on a different time-zone to my own. Why? Because most of my readers set their watches differently to me.
  • Be vocal. Whenever you see a post you enjoy somewhere online, tell the author you liked it in a comment. That lets everyone see how awesome they are and how polite you are.

NOMINEES (in no particular order)

  1. Kait King (a thrill-spinner)
  2. Lemongrass
  3. Bronagh’s Beauty & Books
  4. John’s Life and Travels (a well-traveled writer indeed)
  5. Hard Book Habit
  6. Nerdy Book Club
  7. Dean J. Baker
  8. Fiddler of Dooney
  9. Comfy Reading
  10. Compulsive Writer (left me great feedback!)
  11. The Ohioan
  12. Writing Without Glasses
  13. Fictional Kevin
  14. Kimberley Crawford (one-liner extraordinaire)
  15. Dream Big, Dream Often (creater of the Meet n Greet)

Do you think anyone else should be on this list? Leave a comment below!

3 thoughts on “And The Blogger Recognition Award Goes To…

Leave a Reply

