Whore_of_Babylon

Another excerpt from my latest project. I’m thinking about renaming it “Babylon”. Which title do you prefer?

The hands holding my arms and legs tightened their grip. I felt something lurch inside me, cold fear, as I was lifted and dunked backwards into the stagnant water of the fountain. At first, I held my breath and waited for my attackers to grow bored of their sport. It was not hard or particularly painful.

Then a bony fist smacked into my stomach. Stale air stung in my aching lungs and I gasped for breath, drawing silty water in through my throat. Breathing the fountain’s bitter contents felt like swallowing fire, as though it was scorching my insides.

Suddenly, the fingers clasped around my limbs relaxed. I was free and splashed up to the surface. The boys were stumbling over each other, desperately trying to escape some unseen threat.

As I watched, a bright purple stain appeared on Quintus’ stark white toga and blossomed outwards over his breast. More small missiles flew through the air and burst against my attackers, painting their pristine clothes a myriad of colours. With cries of frustrated anger and, I guessed, fear at what their mothers might say, the gang fled in the direction of the Palatine.

Part 1

Part 2

Leave a Reply

