Fire

The feeling was nothing. It didn’t make me want or think anything, just emptiness.

It was a black void drawing my stomach tighter into a gripping knot until my whole body shook with the tension.

Something raw and ugly was growing inside me, a deformed monstrosity that screamed and howled in disfigured fury.

The tightly wound cord grew taut, quivered, scratched like a boiling rash, snapped. Everything broke loose. Cursing, shouting, thrashing anything near me until it was crushed into a fine dust. Fire leapt inside, white flame consuming red embers.

And then, a cold spread of ice through my veins. Revenge would be slower, require more energy, but when the hunger was released it would devour everything.

I drew it back inside and locked it tight in my chest. Fury saved for another day.

Leave a Reply

