A blog is one of the best ways for an unknown writer to build their readership. Social media (Facebook, Twitter, etc.) is another powerful tool, but it’s best used on the side.

This comes from my personal experience. I’ve spent days hitting multiple Google+ communities with millions of members each, sending links and introductions to my books out into the ether. That’s thousands of people who saw my link in their news feed. Guess what? There was no parallel bump in book sales. Not even a hint of an impact.

People won’t pick up a book unless they know the author can write. One of the core rules of writing is “Show, don’t tell.” The best way to show people how good your writing is comes from putting it up on a blog. Use social media to promote your blog (more clickable because it’s free), and use the blog to showcase your talent.

But how else can you get people reading your blog? The best way to do this is to make sure that you’re on people’s radar. Each post you write will show up on someone’s news feed (one post per day is probably the ideal). You can manipulate this with carefully chosen tags, an interesting image and an intriguing title.

Step 2: make yourself visible. Blogging platforms have two functions. They’re places to write and publish, but also areas where you can read what others have written. Unlike with my social media experiment, I’ve noticed that there is a direct link between how many views my writing gets and how much time I spend reading other people’s work.

Follow tags that you’ve published in. See what others have written, give it a thorough read and leave feedback. If you have the time, write a comment. If not, leave a “like” or “follow”.

The potential growth your blog can have as a result of this process is unlimited. If you put it in a graph of reads against views, it’d be a steadily increasing straight line. I haven’t found where it levels out yet. Somewhere in the outer reaches of Asgard among the top branches of Yggdrasil the World Tree?

Let me know in the comments if any of this was useful. Do you have any writing tips to share?

Previously:

My books:

10 thoughts on “Tip #12: How To Get More Readers

  1. I concur with this post completely. I realised that I was spending a lot of time on social media for very little return. Then I migrated a blog to wordpress and started seeing the returns coming in. The community-based interest through tags is more valuable I believe and hits more genuine readers than what I could get on the likes of facebook.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

