Zero Seconds (short story)

Useless Book Club

Blackout

Lights Out #1

I had been waiting many years for that night. They were not short years either. Each one seemed to be dragging not past me, but over me. Time pinned me beneath the crushing weight of expectation.

I was waiting in my flat. You remember, I am sure, when we used to live in those buildings which reached up and seemed to touch the sky. Each person had their own little shell of brick and mortar to call home. I think you must remember soft mattresses and warm beds. I think you must still dream of them sometimes when you are lying in the dirt with your bones rattling against the cold.

I should not have been frightened that night because I was not alone. None of us were alone because we were all waiting together. Imagine every man, woman and child in the entire world catching their…

View original post 588 more words

Leave a Reply

