Tip #21: Value Your Work

Some very quick words of advice which apply not just to authors but anyone involved in a creative industry.

Yesterday, two things happened. One was great: I got engaged. The other was bad: my USB stick snapped in half (possibly due to nerves associated with the former). This has thrown my writing off due to a folder saved on that memory stick entitled “WIPs”.

That stands for “Works In Progress” and included a chapter of my draft novel, saved nowhere else. It’s not the end of the world, I can try to get the device fixed or re-write the chapter. But it got me thinking.

If you’re drafting a manuscript at the moment, perhaps for NaNoWriMo, how highly do you value your work?

“It’s just a draft.” “It might never get published.” “Pretty cheap.”

That’s an easy attitude to take until something goes wrong, but it’s also the only copy of your work in existence. Have you ever thought that you might be producing a rare manuscript? Even rare items often have several copies.

You’re works in progress do have value. The fact that they haven’t been published, read or even finished adds to that value. Use that knowledge of your work’s worth as motivation to keep creating.

If nothing else, learn from my mistake and save to multiple devices!

20 thoughts on “Tip #21: Value Your Work

  1. Ok, second… There’s an article circulating that Will Wheaton (of Star Trek fame) wrote about artists being paid for their work. Apparently the Huffington Post wanted to print this article and when he asked what they paid, they told him they wouldn’t pay, but it would give him “exposure”! Oh my god you got engaged! Sorry- hopeless romantic!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sounds like something I’ve come across before.
      I often buy my groceries with “exposure”! Next time I want to buy a book I’ll offer to only read it on park benches and trains by way of payment.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I thought it was paranoia that caused me to save my writing to: 1. my computer, 2. USB stick, 3. email it to myself, after each writing session, but perhaps it was my inner self saying, “self, save this everywhere, this is meaningful”. This is my first year taking part in Nano, day one was a success for me. I’m going to blog about it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So sorry for you, that sounds like my worst nightmare. I often thought about this event and I save everything I write at least 3 times on three different devices. About drafts and editing, I used to think about my drafts as something immature – like a face full of flaws – but recently I’ve discovered their inner power. Drafts for me are like a little tasty starter before a great main.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Firstly, congratulations! Secondly, I save my work to three places: 1) File on computer. 2) The ‘drafts’ folder on my email account (this is a great resource – you can then access it from other computers if need be) and 3) regular back-ups to CD.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Congratulations on your engagement, commiserations on the – hopefully temporary – loss of your draft novel chapter. I find rewriting even a short blog post (my posts are always disappearing – somewhere or other) to be major hard work – somehow it never works as well second time round – so hopefully you will be able to retrieve it.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Congratulations and best wishes to the bride-to-be! One of the best gifts anyone ever gave me is a Buffalo external hard drive. I back up current projects (my WIPs) daily and all data files once a week. It only takes a very few minutes that are well worth the peace of mind.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment